Studying at ULB

Structure of the Academic year

The academic year is divided into three four-month periods. The first two include a period of classes followed by a revision period and then the exam period. The last four-month period covers the summer break and the second exam period.

  • September: Reception of our new students on the Friday before the beginning of the Academic year
    Mid-September: beginning of courses of the first four-month period and Academic Opening Ceremony

  • December: Fifteen-day break (Christmas/New Year's)

  • January: First exam period (1st part)

  • February: Beginning of courses of the second four-month period

  • End of May and June: First exam period (2nd part)

  • July to mid August: Summer break

  • Mid August to mid September: Second exam period

A detailed academic calendar is available herepdf.

The exam timetables are established by each Faculty.