1. Accueil
  2. EN
  3. Studying at ULB
  4. Find your course

Master of science in Biomedical Engineering

  • academic year
    2019-2020
Master of science in Biomedical Engineering

This formation is taught in french.

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Programme title
    Master of science in Biomedical Engineering
  • Programme mnemonic
    MA-IRCB
  • Programme organised by
    • Brussels School of Engineering
  • Degree type
    Masters 120 credits
  • Tier
    2nd cycle
  • Field and branch of study
    Sciences and technics/Engineering sciences
  • Schedule type
    Daytime
  • Languages of instruction
    french
  • Theoretical programme duration
    2 years
  • Campus
    Solbosch
  • Category / Topic
    Sciences and technics - Sciences and technics
  • Jury President
    Pierre-Etienne LABEAU
  • Jury Secretary
    Simon-Pierre GORZA

Details

General information

Degree type

Masters 120 crédits

Theoretical programme duration

2 years

Learning language(s)

french

Schedule type

Daytime

Campus

Solbosch

Category(ies) - Topic(s)

Sciences and technics - Sciences and technics

Organising faculty(s) and university(ies)
Infor-études

Succeed in your studies

ULB offers a number of activities and resources that can help you develop a successful strategy before or during your studies.

You can make the transition to higher education easier by attending preparatory courses, summer classes, and information and orientation sessions, even before you start your studies at ULB.

During your studies, many people at ULB are there specifically to help you succeed: support staff in each faculty, (inter-)faculty guidance counsellors, tutors, and experts in academic methodology.

Presentation

With their unique multidisciplinary background at the crossroads of biomedicine and engineering, graduates of this programme can design and implement equipment that meets the complex combined requirements of technology and the living world. Biomedical engineers play a fundamental part in bringing together the scientific and technological approaches of the engineering and biomedical industries. This versatile Master programme is a response to the constant evolution of medical technologies in areas such as biomechanics, instruments, or biomedical imaging. This means that biomedical engineering is a promising sector, supporting the development of an innovative industry that draws from life and health sciences.

The Master in Biomedical Engineering revolves around three main components:

1. Biomechanics

2. Biomedical instruments

3. Biomedical imaging and computing

The ‘biomechanics’ component places emphasis on design, choice of materials, and production of prosthetics, micro-surgical instruments, and implants, as well as on the mechanical analysis of biological systems such as the musculoskeletal system with and without prosthetics.

The ‘biomedical instruments’ component relates to developing sensors and stimulators—essentially by using analogue and digital electronics and micro-electronics—to create implantable and non-implantable medical devices.

The ‘biomedical imaging and computing’ component deals with the acquisition, processing, validation, and interpretation of biomedical data. Classes cover the various types of modern imaging systems, and students learn to use the images produced for a variety of applications: diagnostic assistance, surgery scheduling, or surgical navigation.

In all fields of biomedical engineering, the future will belong to multidisciplinary teams. Biomedical engineers play a fundamental part in bringing together the scientific and technological approaches used in the engineering and biomedical industries.

The programme alternates between various teaching methods (from lecture classes to project-based learning), leaving much room—around half of the programme's total hours—for workshops and laboratory classes as well as visits to companies and research centres.

In order to promote the students' personal growth as well as their teamwork skills during their five years of studies, the Master in Biomedical Engineering places particular emphasis on transdisciplinary projects that involve all subjects in the programme, in both fields: biomedical and engineering.

Students work on projects in the 1st year of the Master, choosing one specific area of speciality. They can complete either a computer-aided design project related to biomechanics or biomedical instruments, or a biomedical imaging project. Alternatively, selected students may also take part in a

biomedical project on development cooperation, or a ‘team leader’ project.

In the final year, in addition to the dissertation—in which students elaborate on a topic related to their speciality—, the programme lets students complete a work placement in a hospital or a company, in Belgium or abroad; this immerses them in an environment similar to what they might experience when they start working as biomedical engineers.

This programme was created as a response for the growing demand of engineers who can understand, interpret, and provide solutions to the technical needs of the medical community; the Master in Biomedical Engineering is the most recent programme available to students, with the first graduates earning their degree in July of 2007. This high-level programme combines traditional engineering skills and cutting-edge biomedical skills.

The programme is accredited by Belgium's public authority that regulates the title of ‘Engineer’ (jointly with the agency in charge of evaluating higher education programmes), and has been awarded the EUR-ACE label.

By learning engineering and biomedicine at ULB, students ensure they receive a high-level pluridisciplinary education. Learning a variety of skills is essential in order to design and implement biomedical equipment that can meet the complex requirements of technology and the living world.

Exchanges

Students in the Master programme may also take part in an exchange programme (for one term or an entire year), such as Erasmus or another programme.

Work placement

In the 2nd year of the Master, students may complete a work placement that will immerse them in a professional environment for at least 12 weeks. This places them in direct and active contact with the professional world, earning them real-world experience and engineering skills. The work placement takes place in a company or in a hospital unit, in Belgium or abroad. It can also take place in an academic research group, but only abroad.

Examples of work placement settings

Companies: Baxter, Biocartis, Cardiatis, Cardio3, Centexbel, Cochlear, Endo Tools Therapeutics, Euranova, IBA, IMEC, Inoue, Intuitim, Johnson & Johnson Medical, Kisano, Materlialise, Medisoft, MedPole, Mobelife, Siemens, Synergia Medical, Volcano, 3Win, etc.

Hospitals: Erasme hospital, Brugmann hospital, Jules Bordet institute

Abroad (in companies, hospitals, or academic research groups): Brain Innovation (Maastricht, Netherlands), Withings (Paris, France), Image Guided Therapy (Pessac, France), Alfred Hospital (Melbourne, Australia), Pitié-Salpêtrière hospital (Paris, France), Harvard University (Cambridge, USA), University College London (London, UK)

Partnerships

A strong partnership exists between the Master in Biomedical Engineering and the Faculty of Medicine as well as ULB's network of partner hospitals, who have cutting-edge equipment. A number of professors in the Faculty of Medicine also give specific classes on biomedicine as part of this Master programme.

In addition, the programme has formed partnerships with other Belgian universities (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Université Catholique de Louvain, Université de Liège), which creates opportunities for more courses. Other opportunities include students taking part in 3 events (5 credits): the Biomedical Days (three days of talks hosted by a panel of speakers from the industrial sector, organised jointly with UCL and ULg), the National Day on Biomedical Engineering—including a biomedical job fair—, and the European Course on Laparoscopic Surgery.

Access conditions

Programme

The programme is based on the standard three-year format: the third year of the Bachelor programme, followed by two years of a Master programme. Courses are given on the three following main subjects: biomechanics, biomedical instruments, and biomedical imaging. The 3rd year of the Bachelor programme provides basic knowledge in biomedicine and engineering. Then, the 1st year of the Master programme covers the basic material for all three main subjects, while the 2nd year has students choose a series of courses that align more closely with their interests in one of these subjects. Students may also choose to specialise in courses required to become an expert in medical radiophysics; this speciality will give them insight into the use and impact of ionising radiation (radiotherapy, scanners etc.) on living tissue.

Bachelor – Year 3

In addition to a common core of courses, 30 credits are specific to biomedical engineering: these specialised courses provide basic knowledge in biomedicine (biology, physiology, biochemistry, anatomy) and engineering (instruments, computing, and automation), later developed in the Master programme.

Master – Year 1

Courses are centred around a ‘biomedicine’ module (25 credits) and an ‘engineering’ module (30 credits), which cover the basics of the programme’s three core subjects (biomechanics, instruments, imaging) in order to help students choose a specialisation in year 2 based on their personal interests.

The programme is completed by a specific project related to biomedical engineering (5 credits), which can take the form of a biomedical imaging project or a biomechanics project. Alternatively, selected students may complete one of two other types of projects: a biomedical project on development cooperation (see www.ulb.ac.be/facs/polytech/cooperation-Mission.html to learn more about these projects), and a ‘team leader’ project, where they will supervise a group of 1st-year Bachelor students for their own final project.

Master – Year 2

For the final year, the programme includes a dissertation, which counts for 20 credits, and three series of classes (modules), each of which is specialised in one of the three main subjects (biomechanics, instrumentation, imaging). By choosing at least 20 credits’ worth of courses in two of the three modules, students can align their studies with their interests. Another possibility is to specialise in medical radiophysics, in order to prepare for additional training as an expert in this medical radiophysics.

Students may also complete a work placement (10 credits) in a company or a hospital, in Belgium or abroad, with an additional module and a free module, totalling at least 60 credits. In addition, students take part in 3 events (5 credits): the Biomedical Days (three days of talks hosted by a panel of speakers from the industrial sector, organised jointly with UCL and ULg), the National Day on Biomedical Engineering—including a biomedical job fair—, and the European Course on Laparoscopic Surgery.

Some courses are given in English (the actual number of hours depends on each student's choice of electives).

What's next ?

Prospects

Biomedical engineering is among the industries with the highest growth rates, and more jobs are created each year—especially in the field of innovation. In 2013, over 10,000 patent applications were filed with the European Patent Office in the area of medical technologies, which is more than in any other technical area. Among these applications, 41% were filed by EU countries and 39% by the USA. Innovation is happening at such a rapid pace that new medical technologies are replaced by improved versions 18 to 24 months after their introduction. This means that graduates of this programme can naturally work as experts, project managers, or even project leaders, in R&D departments, consulting firms, and academic research units, where they can design, develop, and optimise any number of medical devices for clinical or research use.

Nearly 25,000 companies are active in medical technology in Europe, totalling over 575,000 employees, while the industry employs 520,000 in the USA. As for the pharmaceutical industry, it employs 675,000 people in Europe. This makes for a high level of demand for workers with advanced qualifications in the medical technology industry in general, and in our countries in particular. The Master in Biomedical Engineering was created in response to this high demand.

Graduates can apply to large companies with a long history in developing and producing medical equipment, but also—and especially—to SMEs. Making up 95% of the medical technology industry in Europe, SMEs are boosted by the considerable size of the market for medical technologies. This market is estimated at 100 billion euros in the Europe, while the region has a positive trade balance of 15,2 billion euros. Imports/exports by country are presented below, with Belgium among the top exporters.

Our country offers many job opportunities for biomedical engineers. For instance, Belgium's medical equipment industry employs some 18,000 people for a total turnover of 3.4 billion euros; the industry is growing at a rate of 4% (2010), and Belgium has over 380 companies specialised in medical devices, 70% of which are SMEs.

This Master programme is versatile enough that graduates have a wealth of professional opportunities, including in other areas than biomedical engineering. Depending on their choice of specialisation—each of which provides advanced technical training—, graduates of the Master in Biomedical Engineering can also work in other, more traditional areas such as mechanical engineering, electronics, or computer science. Lastly, as the programme is firmly rooted in applied medicine, biomedical engineers can also work in hospitals, including in managerial positions.

1. Accueil
  2. FR
  3. Étudier
  4. Offre de formation

Master : ingénieur civil biomédical

  • année académique
    2019-2020
Master : ingénieur civil biomédical

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Intitulé du programme
    Master : ingénieur civil biomédical
  • mnémonique du programme
    MA-IRCB
  • Programme organisé par
    • École polytechnique de Bruxelles
  • Type de diplôme
    Masters 120 crédits
  • Cycle
    2e cycle
  • Secteur et domaine d'études
    Sciences et techniques/Sciences de l'ingénieur et technologie
  • Type d'horaire
    En journée
  • Langues d'enseignement
    français
  • Durée théorique de la formation
    2 ans
  • Campus
    Solbosch
  • Catégorie / Thématique
    Sciences et techniques - Sciences de l'ingénieur et technologie
  • Président du jury
    Pierre-Etienne LABEAU
  • Secrétaire du jury
    Simon-Pierre GORZA

Détails

Informations générales

Type de diplôme

Masters 120 crédits

Durée théorique de la formation

2 ans

Langue(s) d'enseignement

français

Type d'horaire

En journée

Campus

Solbosch

Catégorie(s) - Thématique(s)

Sciences et techniques - Sciences de l'ingénieur et technologie

Faculté(s) et université(s) organisatrice(s)
Infor-études

Réussir ses études

L'Université vous accompagne grâce à une multitude d'activités et de ressources qui vous aideront, avant ou pendant vos études, à élaborer votre stratégie de réussite.

Avant votre arrivée à l'ULB, facilitez votre transition vers l'enseignement supérieur grâce à des cours prépas, des cours d'été, des ateliers d'information et d’orientation.

Pendant vos études, de nombreuses personnes s'occupent de soutenir votre réussite: encadrants en faculté, guidances (inter)facultaires, tuteurs et experts en méthodologie universitaire.

Présentation

L’ingénieur civil biomédical, grâce à son profil multidisciplinaire unique, à la croisée du monde biomédical et de l’ingénierie, est capable de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des équipements répondant aux contraintes complexes de la technologie et du vivant. L'ingénieur civil biomédical joue un rôle fondamental dans la synthèse des approches scientifiques et technologiques du monde de l'ingénieur et du monde biomédical. Cette formation polyvalente trouve ses justifications dans l'évolution constante des technologies médicales relevant de secteurs tels que la biomécanique, l'instrumentation ou l'imagerie biomédicales. Le génie biomédical est donc un domaine d’avenir, supportant le développement d’une industrie innovante, nourrie par les sciences de la vie et de la santé.

La formation de l’ingénieur civil biomédical s’oriente dans les trois domaines privilégiés suivants:

1. La biomécanique

2. L’instrumentation biomédicale

3. L’imagerie et informatique biomédicales

Le volet « biomécanique » insiste sur les aspects liés à la conception, au choix des matériaux et à la fabrication des prothèses, d’instruments microchirurgicaux et de dispositifs implantables, ainsi que sur l’analyse mécanique des systèmes biologiques tels que le système musculo-squelettique avec et sans prothèse.

Le volet « instrumentation biomédicale » se rapporte à l’élaboration de capteurs et de stimulateurs, essentiellement par l’électronique et la micro-électronique analogiques et numériques, pour la réalisation de dispositifs médicaux, implantables ou non.

Le volet « imagerie et informatique biomédicales » insiste sur les aspects liés à l'acquisition, au traitement, à la validation et à l'interprétation des données biomédicales. Les différents systèmes d'imagerie moderne sont étudiés et les images produites sont exploitées dans divers domaines, tels l'aide au diagnostic, le planning chirurgical ou la navigation opératoire.

Quels que soient les domaines de l’ingénierie biomédicale, l’avenir appartient aux équipes multidisciplinaires. L’ingénieur civil biomédical a donc un rôle fondamental à jouer dans la synthèse des approches scientifiques et technologiques du monde biomédical et du monde de l’ingénieur.

profil d'enseignement M-IRCBS

Le programme alterne les différentes méthodes d'enseignement (du cours magistral à l'apprentissage par projet), en laissant une très grande place –environ la moitié du temps– aux séances d'exercices et de laboratoires, ainsi que les visites en entreprise ou centre de recherche.

Afin de favoriser simultanément le développement personnel et le travail en équipe durant les cinq années d’études, un accent tout particulier est mis sur l’enseignement par projets transdisciplinaires, faisant appel à l’ensemble des matières enseignées, tant biomédicales que dans le domaine de l’ingénieur.

Les projets ont lieu en MA bloc 1 et sont orientés dans l’un des domaines privilégiés de la formation. Il s’agit soit d’un projet de conception assistée par ordinateur ayant trait à la biomécanique ou à l’instrumentation, soit d’un projet d’imagerie biomédicale. En alternative, les étudiants ont aussi accès, sur sélection, à un projet biomédical en coopération au développement ou au projet « chef d’équipe ».

En dernière année, en plus du mémoire de fin d’études où l’étudiant doit développer une question relevant de sa spécialité, le cursus permet la réalisation d’un stage de longue durée. Ce stage s’effectue en milieu hospitalier ou en entreprise, en Belgique ou à l’étranger, plongeant ainsi l’étudiant ingénieur civil biomédical dans l’environnement qu’il est susceptible de rencontrer dans l’exercice de son futur métier.

Née de la demande de plus en plus croissante d’ingénieurs capables de comprendre, d’interpréter et de matérialiser les besoins techniques du monde médical, la formation d’ingénieur civil biomédical est la plus « jeune » parmi celles proposées aux étudiants ingénieurs civils, la première promotion datant de juillet 2007. Cette formation scientifique de haut niveau allie les compétences traditionnelles de l’ingénieur aux connaissances en sciences biomédicales.

Cette formation est accréditée par la Commission des Titres d'Ingénieur (conjointement avec l'Agence pour l'Evaluation de la Qualité de l'Enseignement Supérieur) et a reçu le label EUR-ACE.

Se former à l'ingénierie et au domaine biomédical à l'ULB garantit une formation pluridisciplinaire au plus haut niveau. L'intégration de compétences multiples est primordiale pour la conception et la mise en œuvre d'équipements biomédicaux qui répondent aux contraintes complexes de la technologie et du vivant.

Echanges

La possibilité de réaliser des échanges à l'étranger est offerte aux étudiants en MA (d'une durée d'un quadrimestre ou d'une année complète), via un programme Erasmus ou d'autres programmes d’échange.

Stages

En MA bloc 2, les étudiants ont, de plus, la possibilité d’effectuer un stage d’immersion professionnelle de minimum 12 semaines. Le stage permet à l’étudiant de se confronter activement au monde professionnel et d’acquérir une première expérience ainsi que des compétences d’ingénierie en situation réelle. Le stage se déroule dans une entreprise ou un service hospitalier en Belgique ou à l’étranger. Il peut aussi se dérouler dans un groupe de recherche universitaire, mais uniquement à l’étranger.

Exemples de lieux de stages

En entreprise : Baxter, Biocartis, Cardiatis, Cardio3, Centexbel, Cochlear, Endo Tools Therapeutics, Euranova, IBA, IMEC, Inoue, Intuitim, Johnson & Johnson Medical, Kisano, Materlialise, Medisoft, MedPole, Mobelife, Siemens, Synergia Medical, Volcano, 3Win…

En milieu hospitalier : Hôpital Erasme, Hôpital Brugmann, Institut Jules Bordet

A l’étranger (en entreprise, hôpital ou groupe de recherche universitaire) : Brain Innovation (Maastricht, Hollande), Withings (Paris, France), Image Guided Therapy (Pessac, France), Alfred Hospital (Melbourne, Australie), Hôpital de la pitié Salpêtrière (Paris, France), Harvard University (Cambridge, USA), University College London (Londres, UK)

Partenariats

La formation d’ingénieur civil biomédical bénéficie d’un partenariat important avec la Faculté de médecine et les hôpitaux associés à l'ULB qui disposent d'un équipement technologique de pointe. Différents professeurs de cette faculté enseignent aux étudiants les compétences nécessaires en Sciences biomédicales, via des cours qui leur sont spécifiquement dédiés.

D’autre part, notre formation bénéficie de collaborations étroites avec différentes universités du pays (la Vrije Universiteit Brussel, l’Université catholique de Louvain et l’Université de Liège), permettant ainsi d’élargir l’offre de cours. Les étudiants participent notamment à différentes journées thématiques (5 crédits) : les Biomedical Days (trois journées de conférences présentées par un panel d’orateurs principalement industriels, proposées conjointement avec l’UCL et l’ULg), le National Day on Biomedical Engineering – incluant une « job fair » biomédicale –, et l’European Course on Laparoscopic Surgery.

Conditions d’accès

Programme

Cette formation se base sur le socle habituel de trois années, le BA bloc 3, suivies par les 2 années du MA bloc 2. Durant ce cursus, les étudiants abordent les trois domaines privilégiés suivants: la biomécanique, l’instrumentation et l’imagerie biomédicales. Le BA bloc 3 permet d’acquérir les notions de base en Sciences biomédicales et Sciences de l’ingénieur. Alors que la première partie du programme de MA (MA bloc 1) procure les matières de base pour ces trois volets, lors la deuxième partie du cursus (MA bloc 2), l’étudiant aura la possibilité de choisir un ensemble de cours se rapprochant plus de ses affinités dans l’un ou l’autre des trois domaines privilégiés dans cette formation. Il aura aussi la possibilité de s’orienter vers les matières nécessaires à la formation d'expert en radiophysique médicale. Cette dernière permettra à l’étudiant de comprendre les aspects liés à l’utilisation et à l’impact de rayonnements ionisants (radiothérapie, scanner,…) sur les tissus vivants.

BA bloc 3

Outre les cours de tronc commun, 30 crédits sont propres à la filière. Il s’agit d’un ensemble de cours destinés à acquérir les notions de base en Sciences biomédicales (biologie, physiologie, biochimie et anatomie) et Sciences de l’ingénieur (instrumentation, complément d’informatique et automatique), qui constituent les bases pour les cours de MA.

MA bloc 1

Les cours s’articulent autour de deux modules « Sciences biomédicales » (25 crédits) et « Sciences de l’ingénieur » (30 crédits), couvrant les bases des trois domaines privilégiés dans la formation (biomécanique, instrumentation et imagerie) pour permettre à l’étudiant d’orienter son cursus de MA bloc 2 selon ses affinités.

Ce programme est complété par un projet spécifique d’ingénierie biomédicale (5 crédits) qui se décline en un projet d’imagerie biomédicale ou un projet de biomécanique. En alternative, les étudiants auront accès, sur sélection, à deux autres types de projet : un projet biomédical en coopération au développement (voir www.ulb.ac.be/facs/polytech/cooperation-Mission.html pour plus d’information sur ces projets) ou le projet « chef d’équipe » où ils devront encadrer un groupe d’étudiants de BA bloc 1 dans le cadre de leur projet d'année.

MA bloc 2

En dernière année, le programme comprend le mémoire de fin d’études qui comptabilise 20 crédits et trois modules de cours, chacun spécialisé dans l’un des trois domaines privilégiés (biomécanique, instrumentation ou imagerie). En choisissant un minimum de 20 crédits dans deux des trois modules, chaque étudiant aura la possibilité de se spécialiser selon ses affinités. Une dernière alternative lui permettra de se spécialiser en radiophysique médicale et d’accéder à la formation complémentaire d’expert en radiophysique médicale.

L’étudiant peut alors compléter son choix par un stage (10 crédits) en entreprise ou milieu hospitalier, en Belgique ou à l’étranger, dans un module de cours complémentaires et un module libre, pour comptabiliser un total de 60 crédits au minimum. Les étudiants participent également à différentes journées thématiques (5 crédits) : les Biomedical Days (trois journées de conférences présentées par un panel d’orateurs principalement industriel, proposées conjointement avec l’UCL et l’ULg), le National Day on Biomedical Engineering – incluant une « job fair » biomédicale –, et l’European Course on Laparoscopic Surgery.

Une partie du cursus est donnée en Anglais (le nombre d’heures dépend des cours choisis par l’étudiant).

Et après ?

Débouchés

L’ingénierie biomédicale est l’un des domaines en plus forte croissance et l’offre d’emploi s’amplifie d’année en année, en particulier dans le secteur de l’innovation. A titre d’information, en 2013, plus de 10 000 demandes de brevet ont été déposées auprès de l'Office européen des brevets dans le domaine de la technologie médicale, soit plus que dans n’importe quel autre domaine technique. 41 % de ces demandes de brevet ont été déposées par des pays européens contre 39 % par les États-Unis. L’innovation est telle qu’en moyenne, une technologie médicale sera supplantée par une version améliorée dans les 18 à 24 mois suivant son introduction. L’ingénieur civil biomédical trouve donc naturellement sa place, en tant qu’expert, project manager ou project leader, dans les départements R&D, les bureaux de consultance et les groupes de recherche universitaires pour concevoir, développer et optimiser de nombreux dispositifs médicaux à usage clinique ou de recherche.

Il y a presque 25 000 entreprises dans le domaine de la technologie médicale en Europe qui emploient plus de 575 000 personnes, en comparaison des 520 000 personnes employées dans ce secteur aux Etats-Unis. L’industrie pharmaceutique, quant à elle, emploie 675 000 personnes en Europe. La demande de travailleurs avec un haut niveau de formation est donc importante dans le domaine de la technologie médicale, en général, et dans nos pays, en particulier. La formation d’ingénieur civil biomédical a été créée suite à cette demande.

L’ingénieur civil biomédical pourra postuler dans de grandes entreprises renommées depuis longtemps pour leur réalisation et production en matériel médical et aussi - et surtout - dans les nombreuses PME. En effet, l'industrie de la technologie médicale européenne est faite de 95% de PME. Ces entreprises sont poussées par la taille considérable du marché de la technologie médicale. En Europe, il est estimé à environ 100 milliards d’euros. L'Europe a aussi dans ce domaine une balance commerciale positive de 15,2 milliards d’euros (2013). Les destinations et la répartition des importations/exportations en fonction des pays sont spécifiées ci-dessous, où la Belgique se retrouve dans le peloton de tête.

Notre pays offre un grand nombre de possibilités d’emploi pour les ingénieurs civils biomédicaux. Pour se faire une idée, en Belgique, l’industrie des dispositifs médicaux emploie environ 18 000 personnes, le chiffre d’affaires du secteur des dispositifs médicaux réalisé sur le marché national s’élève à 3,4 milliards d’euros, le secteur des dispositifs médicaux croît à un rythme de 4 % par an (2010) et notre pays compte plus de 380 entreprises spécialisées dans les dispositifs médicaux, pour 70 % de PME.

La formation polyvalente de la filière offre à ses diplômés l’embarras du choix quant à son orientation professionnelle, y compris, pour ceux qui le désirent, dans des domaines autres que l’ingénierie biomédicale. En effet, en fonction de l’orientation choisie par l’étudiant durant son cursus (qui lui fournira un niveau technique fort poussé), l’ingénieur civil biomédical pourra postuler dans d’autres domaines plus traditionnels comme la mécanique, l’électronique et l’informatique. Enfin, par l’originalité de sa formation ancrée dans la réalité médicale, l’ingénieur civil biomédical peut aussi prétendre à occuper des fonctions importantes dans les services hospitaliers et la gestion de structures hospitalières.