1. Accueil
  2. EN
  3. Studying at ULB
  4. Find your course

Master in Geology

Master in Geology

This formation is taught in french.

The 2020-2021 programme is subject to change. It is provided for information purposes only.

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Programme title
    Master in Geology
  • Programme mnemonic
    MA-GEOL
  • Programme organised by
    • Faculty of Sciences
  • Degree type
    Masters 120 credits
  • Tier
    2nd cycle
  • Field and branch of study
    Sciences and technics/Sciences
  • Schedule type
    Daytime
  • Languages of instruction
    french
  • Theoretical programme duration
    2 years
  • Campus
    Plaine/Solbosch
  • Category / Topic
    Sciences and technics - Sciences
  • Jury President
    Nadine MATTIELLI
  • Jury Secretary
    Vinciane DEBAILLE

Details

General information

Degree type

Masters 120 crédits

Theoretical programme duration

2 years

Learning language(s)

french

Schedule type

Daytime

Campus

Plaine/Solbosch

Category(ies) - Topic(s)

Sciences and technics - Sciences

Organising faculty(s) and university(ies)

Succeed in your studies

ULB offers a number of activities and resources that can help you develop a successful strategy before or during your studies.

You can make the transition to higher education easier by attending preparatory courses, summer classes, and information and orientation sessions, even before you start your studies at ULB.

During your studies, many people at ULB are there specifically to help you succeed: support staff in each faculty, (inter-)faculty guidance counsellors, tutors, and experts in academic methodology.

Presentation

Today, more than ever, geologists are geoscientists. Their multi-disciplinary background in earth and environmental sciences allows them to tackle complex issues associated with the evolution of our Planet, and the interactions between Humans and the Environment. They are, and will be in the future, key players in the sustainable development of our societies. 

In addition to providing solid training on the theoretical, practical, analytical and modellingtools necessary for a modern geologist, our Master in Geology gives students the opportunity to choose amongst a large range of in-depth specialisations (related to geochemistry, geology and environment). Our curriculum guarantees strong professional skills that could lead thestudents to scientific research, but also to careers in the private sector, e.g. in environmental consulting, management of natural resources, assessment of natural hazards, or exploration and exploitation of geomaterials.

The teaching methods follow the objectives set by the competency framework of the Faculty and the Master in Geology.

The Advanced Master program offers a series of mandatory courses (in Volcanology, Geochemistry, Geochronology, Metallogeny, Cosmochemistry and Planetology, Structural Geology, Hydrogeology, Oceanography, Environmental Geochemistry, and Modeling of the Earth System and Climate Change, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to be followed over the two years of the Master.
These courses are accompanied by a fieldtrip abroad organized as part of the curriculum, a trip on the research vessel Belgica, and optional courses to be chosen among a very wide range of topics related to the Environment, Climate, Glaciology, Dynamics of the Atmosphere, ...
The entire curriculum therefore relies on a strong geochemical focus applied to both the Inner Earth and its surface reservoirs and their interactions. Special attention is given to field observations, laboratory analyses and measurements, and modeling.

A Master thesis will be produced in block 2 at the ULB and / or in collaboration with a partner institution.

An internship of 1 to 3 months must be undertaken during the Master (value: 10 or 20 credits depending on the length of the internship). This internship provides the student with the opportunity to become familiar with a new research environment and / or professional life by creating direct contacts within a company.

The Master in Geology is based on contributions from recognised experts in the fields of volcanology; isotope geochemistry and cosmochemistry; environmental (bio)geochemistry; chemical oceanography; sedimentology and biogeology; global modelling of the Earth system; GIS. In addition, experts from the Royal Institute of Natural Sciences of Belgium, the Royal Museum for Central Africa (RMCA), and the Royal Observatory of Belgium, and VUB, take an active part in teaching activities, as part of the ‘Pole Géosciences de Bruxelles’.

The teaching program offers students the opportunity to perform a field trip abroad (where the student will be immersed in his role as field geologist); a research trip on the Belgica; and an internship (long or short) that will inform the student on future professional careers. In addition, there is a wide range of optional courses on offer; opportunities to work in group; to give oral presentations and to master both languages (French and English).

Student apply to go on an Erasmus exchange period or a work placement in another university, whether a close ULB partner or a member of an international networks that ULB is part of.

Strong collaborations with the Royal Museum for Central Africa (MRAC), Royal Observatory of Belgium and Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences.

Access conditions

Programme

What's next ?

Prospects

The geologist intervenes in challenges at the scale of the municipality, the country or even the planet. His high-level training can lead him to research in the academic sector but also in the private sector. Significant opportunities also exist in the public and non-governmental sectors, in with the context of management of natural hazards, land-use planning or the sustainable management of the environment and natural resources (environmental consultancy, soil remediation, protection of groundwater, air quality analysis ...). The technical skills acquired are also highly appreciated by the industries active in the field of geomaterials (civil engineering, cement, sustainable architecture, hydrogeology, mining exploration, …). With his knowledge, the geologist trained at the ULB will be called upon to play a central role in the major challenge of the 21st century: sustainable development of our planet-friendly society.

1. Accueil
  2. FR
  3. Étudier
  4. Offre de formation

Master en sciences géologiques

Master en sciences géologiques

Le programme 2020-2021 est susceptible d'être modifié. Celui-ci est donné à titre indicatif.

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Intitulé du programme
    Master en sciences géologiques
  • mnémonique du programme
    MA-GEOL
  • Programme organisé par
    • Faculté des Sciences
  • Type de diplôme
    Masters 120 crédits
  • Cycle
    2e cycle
  • Secteur et domaine d'études
    Sciences et techniques/Sciences
  • Type d'horaire
    En journée
  • Langues d'enseignement
    français
  • Durée théorique de la formation
    2 ans
  • Campus
    Plaine/Solbosch
  • Catégorie / Thématique
    Sciences et techniques - Sciences
  • Président du jury
    Nadine MATTIELLI
  • Secrétaire du jury
    Vinciane DEBAILLE

Détails

Informations générales

Type de diplôme

Masters 120 crédits

Durée théorique de la formation

2 ans

Langue(s) d'enseignement

français

Type d'horaire

En journée

Campus

Plaine/Solbosch

Catégorie(s) - Thématique(s)

Sciences et techniques - Sciences

Faculté(s) et université(s) organisatrice(s)

Réussir ses études

L'Université vous accompagne grâce à une multitude d'activités et de ressources qui vous aideront, avant ou pendant vos études, à élaborer votre stratégie de réussite.

Avant votre arrivée à l'ULB, facilitez votre transition vers l'enseignement supérieur grâce à des cours prépas, des cours d'été, des ateliers d'information et d’orientation.

Pendant vos études, de nombreuses personnes s'occupent de soutenir votre réussite: encadrants en faculté, guidances (inter)facultaires, tuteurs et experts en méthodologie universitaire.

Infor-études

Présentation

Aujourd’hui, plus que jamais, le géologue est appelé à être un géoscientifique complet. Son approche multidisciplinaire des sciences de la terre et de l’environnement lui permet d’aborder des problématiques complexes liées à l’évolution de notre Planète, et aux interactions entre l’homme et l’environnement. Il est donc un acteur incontournable dans le développement durable de nos sociétés.

Le Master en sciences géologiques offre aux étudiant.e.s des connaissances scientifiques solides pour un large éventail de domaines d’enseignement approfondi (touchant géochimie, géologie, environnement) tout en développant la maîtrise des outils analytiques et théoriques de la géologie fondamentale. Il leur garantit une efficacité professionnelle tant dans les domaines de la recherche scientifique que dans les secteurs de l’environnement, de l’exploration et l’exploitation du sous-sol ainsi que dans la gestion durable des ressources et l’évaluation des risques naturels.

Les méthodes suivent les objectifs fixés par le référentiel des compétences de la Faculté et du Master en Géologie.

Le Master à finalité approfondie propose une série de cours obligatoires (en Volcanologie, Géochimie, Géochronologie, Métallogénie, Cosmochimie et Planétologie, Géologie Structurale, Hydrogéologie, Océanographie, Géochimie Environnementale, et Modélisation du Système Terre et des Changements Climatiques, Systèmes d’Information Géographiques (SIG)) à répartir sur les deux années du Master.
Ces cours sont accompagnés d’un stage de terrain à l’étranger organisé dans le cadre du cursus, un voyage sur le bateau Belgica, et de cours en options à choisir parmi un très large éventail de cours ayant trait à l’environnement, au climat, à la Glaciologie, à l’étude approfondie de l’atmosphère, …
L’ensemble du cursus s’appuie donc sur une forte coloration géochimique appliquée aussi bien à la Terre Interne qu’aux enveloppes externes. Une attention particulière est portée aux observations de terrain, analyses et mesures en laboratoire, et à la modélisation. Le mémoire sera réalisé en bloc 2 à l’ULB et/ou en collaboration avec une institution partenaire.
Un stage de mobilité de 1 à 3 mois doit être effectué au cours du Master (valeur : 10 ou 20 crédits selon la longueur du stage). Ce stage procure à l’étudiant l’occasion de se familiariser à un nouvel environnement de recherche et/ou à la vie professionnelle en créant des contacts directement au sein d’une entreprise.

La formation se base sur l'apport de spécialistes reconnus dans les domaines suivants: volcanologie; géochimie isotopique et cosmochimie; (bio)géochimie environnementale ; océanographie chimique; sédimentologie et biogéologie; modélisation globale du système Terre ; SIG. Par ailleurs, le Département entretient des liens privilégiés avec l'Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique, le Musée Royal d'Afrique Centrale et l'Observatoire Royal de Belgique, et la VUB, au sein d'un Pôle "Géosciences" bruxellois.

La formation offre aux étudiants la possibilité d’effectuer un stage de terrain à l’étranger (où l’étudiant sera plongé dans son rôle de géologue de terrain), un voyage en bateau sur le Belgica, un stage de mobilité (long ou court) durant lequel l’étudiant peut confirmer ses choix professionnels pour sa future carrière, un large éventail de cours, des occasions de travailler en groupe, d’effectuer des présentations orales et de maitriser les deux langues (français et anglais).

L’étudiant peut soumettre une candidature pour participer à un séjour ou stage Erasmus dans les universités partenaires privilégiées de l’ULB ou celles des réseaux internationaux définis par l’ULB.

Collaborations étroites avec le MRAC, Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles, Observatoire Royal de Belgique

Conditions d’accès

Programme

Et après ?

Débouchés

Le géologue intervient dans des problématiques à l'échelle de la commune, du pays ou même de la planète. Sa formation de haut niveau peut le mener vers la recherche dans le secteur académique mais également au sein du secteur privé. Des débouchés importants existent également dans le secteur public et non gouvernemental, en lien avec la gestion des risques naturels, à l'aménagement du territoire ou à la gestion durable de l’environnement et des ressources (consultance en environnement, remédiation des sols, protection des nappes phréatiques, analyse de la qualité de l’air…). Ses compétences techniques sont aussi fortement appréciées par l'industrie active dans le domaine des géomatériaux (génie civil, cimentiers, architecture durable, ...) et des géoressources (hydrogéologie, Exploration minière). Muni de ses connaissances, le géologue formé à l'ULB sera appelé à jouer un rôle central dans le défi majeur du 21e siècle: un développement durable de notre société respectueuse de notre planète.