1. Accueil
  2. EN
  3. Studying at ULB
  4. Find your course

Master in Biology of Organisms and Ecology with focus Approfondie

Master in Biology of Organisms and Ecology with focus Approfondie

This formation is taught in french and in english.

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Programme title
    Master in Biology of Organisms and Ecology with focus Approfondie
  • Programme mnemonic
    M-BIORA
  • Programme organised by
    • Faculty of Sciences
  • Degree type
    Masters 120 credits
  • Tier
    2nd cycle
  • Field and branch of study
    Sciences and technics/Sciences
  • Schedule type
    Daytime
  • Languages of instruction
    french / english
  • Theoretical programme duration
    2 years
  • Campus
    Plaine/Solbosch
  • Category / Topic
    Sciences and technics - Agronomy and bioengineering
  • Jury President
    Yves ROISIN
  • Jury Secretary
    Bruno DANIS

Details

General information

Degree type

Masters 120 crédits

Theoretical programme duration

2 years

Learning language(s)

french / english

Schedule type

Daytime

Campus

Plaine/Solbosch

Category(ies) - Topic(s)

Sciences and technics - Agronomy and bioengineering

Organising faculty(s) and university(ies)
Infor-études

Succeed in your studies

ULB offers a number of activities and resources that can help you develop a successful strategy before or during your studies.

You can make the transition to higher education easier by attending preparatory courses, summer classes, and information and orientation sessions, even before you start your studies at ULB.

During your studies, many people at ULB are there specifically to help you succeed: support staff in each faculty, (inter-)faculty guidance counsellors, tutors, and experts in academic methodology.

Presentation

Organism biology and ecology covers the entire diversity of life—bacteria, protists, fungi, animals, and plants—, but also the relationship between organisms, the environment, and humans.

Organism biologists are, all at once, witnesses, advocates, scholars and managers of the biological heritage of our planet, which is currently under serious threat from human activities. Their training should enable them to approach the living world from different perspectives.

This is why the Master in Organism Biology and Ecology teaches students to handle various experimental tools of analysis and observation: morphological, physiological, and molecular analysis techniques, statistical methods and modelling, management, cultivation or breeding of organisms, etc. The programe offers a comprehensive overview of living organisms, from the molecular scale to the scale of entire communities and ecosystems.

The skills taught are structured into four main categories:

1) Establish, maintain, and develop knowledge in the biological sciences.

2) Provide scientific expertise for problem-solving.

3) Develop and implement independent scientific research projects.

4) Communicate context-appropriate and audience-appropriate language.

Skills taught are structured in four main directions:

1) To establish, maintain and develop knowledge in the biological sciences.

2) To provide scientific expertise in problem solving.

3) To develop and implement independent scientific research projects.

4) To communicate in a language appropriate to the context and audience.

Most courses combine several approaches, including lecture classes illustrated with exercises or practical activities. Certain courses also require personal essays, usually based on literature research.

Members of the Department of Biology of Organisms are in charge of the Museum of Zoology and Anthropology, the Jean Massart Experimental Botanical Garden, and the African Herbarium and Botanical Library. These provide the original educational tools required for practical work, making them available to students for their personal projects.

The research focus and teaching focus include field courses in marine biology, terrestrial ecosystems, and eco-ethology, during which theoretical training is put into practice by conducting observations and field experiments.

The ‘tropics’ programmes, i.e. BEVT and TROPIMUNDO, also place emphasis on field training activities, organised by our tropical partners.

For all students, training in scientific research culminates with the dissertation. Each student integrates one of the research laboratories in the Department of Biology of Organisms or in the Interfaculty School of Bioengineering, where they are introduced to the basic methods and procedures of research.

In all focuses (except TROPIMUNDO), students are also taught how to write and present a research project, specifically their own dissertation. Upon completing their dissertation, students who have not received specific training in didactics must also learn how to compose and present a scientific communication.

The purpose of this Master is to advance scientific knowledge. It aims to train researchers who will enhance knowledge in organism biology and ecology using a scientific approach; experts who will answer questions, pose diagnoses, suggest initiatives for environmental protection, nature conservation, or sustainable development; and teachers who will transmit knowledge and skills to the next generation.

The programme also encourages students to gain international experience. It offers courses in English, offered in partnership with the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB).

Student mobility and participation in intra- or extra-European exchange programmes is strongly encouraged. In particular, the focuses on BEVT and TROPIMUNDO are strongly oriented towards acquiring knowledge and experience on developing countries.

Mobility of students and their participation in intra- or extra-European exchange programs is strongly encouraged. In particular, the BEVT and TROPIMUNDO finalités are strongly oriented towards the acquisition of knowledge and experience in relation to developing countries.

Students in the research focus with the BEVT module (Biodiversity and Tropical Environments) spend their 2nd semester in Cameroon, Malaysia, or Senegal, where much of the programme is devoted to field work.

Students in the professional focus with the TROPIMUNDO module spend their 2nd semester in the South (Peru, Cameroon, Malaysia, or Australia) and their 3rd semester in a European university other than ULB (Paris, Cayenne, or Florence).

Students in the research focus are encouraged to take part in international exchange programmes (e.g. Erasmus), especially during the first and second

term.

The dissertation may also require field work abroad, especially for students who focus on tropical environments.

Partnership with the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB): several courses—taught in English by professors from ULB, VUB, or in collaboration—are offered to

students of both universities.

The BEVT module is offered in partnership with the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC), the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN) in Paris, the Université Cheikh Anta Diop in Dakar (Senegal), and the Universiti Malaysia Terengganu.

The focus on Erasmus Mundus Master programme course TROPIMUNDO is organised in collaboration with the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC), the Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN, Paris), the Université de Guyane Française (Cayenne), the Università degli Studi di Firenze (UNIFI, Italy), the Universidad Científica del Perú (UCP, Iquitos, Peru), the Université de Dschang (Cameroon), the Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (Malaysia), and the University of Queensland (UQ, Brisbane, Australia).

Collaborations are also pursued with Federal Scientific Institutions in Belgium (Royal Institute of Natural Sciences, Botanical Garden of Meise, Royal Museum of Central Africa), whose scientific staff is commonly involved in teaching and supervising Master's dissertations.

Access conditions

Programme

Distribution of teaching areas, in credits

Research focus

Organism biology – general courses: 35

Electives: 30

Statistics – data processing: 5

Field courses (in temperate regions (‘general’ module) or in the tropics (‘biodiversity and tropical vegetal environments’ module): 15

Research training (including for the dissertation): 35

Teaching focus

Organism biology – general courses: 35

Statistics – data processing: 5

Field courses (in temperate regions): 15

Didactics: 30

Research training (including for the dissertation): 35

Professional focus: Erasmus Mundus Masters Course in Tropical Biodiversity and Ecosystems (TROPIMUNDO)

Organism biology – general courses: 18-21

Electives: 18-24

Courses on tropical topics: 24-33

Statistics – data processing: 3-16

Field courses (in tropical regions): 8-15

Research training (including for the dissertation): 30

What's next ?

Prospects

Industrial sector (biotech companies, pharmaceutical industry, agro-food industry, ‘green’ technologies): leading research programmes; consulting offices and publishing companies: scientific counseling and communication management; impact studies;

Nature conservation and environmental sector: conservation and management of biodiversity resources; management of nature conservation areas;

Education sector, from secondary schools to higher education institutions;

Academic sector (research and higher education: universities and other higher education institutions, research centres, museums, botanical gardens);

Public sector (local, regional, national, and European level): environmental management, biodiversity conservation and sustainable development: preparation of legal texts, policy implementation; quality control, biosafety, forensic laboratories, development cooperation.

Non-governmental organisations (nature conservation, development cooperation, sustainable development).

As researchers in the academic sector (universities, higher education institutions, museums, botanical gardens, etc.) or the private sector (biotech companies, pharmaceutical firms, agri-food industry), organism biologists are involved in developing fundamental and applied knowledge on living organisms and their functioning and evolution.

As experts in the public sector (public institutions and administrations in charge of environment and nature management, from the local to the European level), in non-governmental organisations (development cooperation, sustainable development), or in private consulting agencies, organism biologists are involved in impact studies, remediating environmental damage, preparing, implementing, and monitoring management plans for nature areas, and conservation, management, and exploitation of biodiversity resources.

Lastly, as teachers and leaders of educational projects in educational institutions, museums, and not-profit organisations in environmental education, biologists take part in science outreach and raising awareness of the role of living organisms for humans.

Industrial sector (biotech companies, pharmaceutical industry, agro-food industry, ‘green’ technologies): leading research programmes; consulting offices and publishing companies: scientific counseling and communication management; impact studies;

Nature conservation and environmental sector: conservation and management of biodiversity resources; management of nature conservation areas;

Education, from secondary schools to higher education institutions;

Academic sector: research and teaching in universities and higher education institutions;

Public sector (local, regional, national, and European level): environment and sustainable development: preparation of legal texts, policy implementation; quality control, biosafety, forensic laboratories, development cooperation, etc.

As a researcher in the academic sector (universities, high schools, museums, botanical gardens ...), or the private sector (biotech companies, pharmaceutical firms, agro-food enterprises), the organism biologist is involved in the development of fundamental and applied knowledge about living organisms, their functioning and evolution.

As an expert in the public sector (public institutions and administrations in charge of environment and nature management, from the local to the European level), in nongovernmental organizations (development cooperation, sustainable development)or in private consulting agencies the organism biologist is involved impact studies, in the implementation of the remediation of damage to the environment, in the preparation, implementation and monitoring of management plans of nature areas, in the conservation, management and exploitation of biodiversity resources.

Finally, as a teacher and leader of educational projects, in educational institutions, museums, not for profit organizations in environmental education, the biologist participates to science diffusion and public awareness of the role of living organisms for humans...

Industrial sector (biotech companies, pharmaceutical firms, agro-food enterprises, “green” technologies): leader of research programs; consultant firms and publishing companies: scientific advisor and responsible of communication; in charge of impact studies;

Nature conservation and environment sector: conservation and management of biodiversity resources; management of nature conservation areas;

Education sector, from secondary schools to higher non university schools;

Academic sector: research and teaching in universities and high schools;

Public sector (local, regional, national, European level): environment and sustainable development: preparation of legal texts, implementation of policies; quality control, biosafety, forensic laboratories, development cooperation;

1. Accueil
  2. FR
  3. Étudier
  4. Offre de formation

Master en biologie des organismes et écologie à finalité Approfondie

Master en biologie des organismes et écologie à finalité Approfondie

Cette formation est enseignée en français et en anglais.

Accéder aux sections de la fiche

Call to actions

  • Intitulé du programme
    Master en biologie des organismes et écologie à finalité Approfondie
  • mnémonique du programme
    M-BIORA
  • Programme organisé par
    • Faculté des Sciences
  • Type de diplôme
    Masters 120 crédits
  • Cycle
    2e cycle
  • Secteur et domaine d'études
    Sciences et techniques/Sciences
  • Type d'horaire
    En journée
  • Langues d'enseignement
    français / anglais
  • Durée théorique de la formation
    2 ans
  • Campus
    Plaine/Solbosch
  • Catégorie / Thématique
    Sciences et techniques - Sciences agronomiques et ingénierie biologique
  • Président du jury
    Yves ROISIN
  • Secrétaire du jury
    Bruno DANIS

Détails

Informations générales

Type de diplôme

Masters 120 crédits

Durée théorique de la formation

2 ans

Langue(s) d'enseignement

français / anglais

Type d'horaire

En journée

Campus

Plaine/Solbosch

Catégorie(s) - Thématique(s)

Sciences et techniques - Sciences agronomiques et ingénierie biologique

Faculté(s) et université(s) organisatrice(s)
Infor-études

Réussir ses études

L'Université vous accompagne grâce à une multitude d'activités et de ressources qui vous aideront, avant ou pendant vos études, à élaborer votre stratégie de réussite.

Avant votre arrivée à l'ULB, facilitez votre transition vers l'enseignement supérieur grâce à des cours prépas, des cours d'été, des ateliers d'information et d’orientation.

Pendant vos études, de nombreuses personnes s'occupent de soutenir votre réussite: encadrants en faculté, guidances (inter)facultaires, tuteurs et experts en méthodologie universitaire.

Présentation

Le champ d'étude de la biologie des organismes et de l'écologie couvre toute la diversité du vivant : bactéries, protistes, champignons, animaux, plantes mais également les relations entre les organismes et l’environnement et/ou avec l’Homme.

Le biologiste des organismes est à la fois le témoin, le défenseur, le déchiffreur et le gestionnaire du patrimoine biologique de notre planète, aujourd'hui gravement menacé par les activités humaines. Sa formation doit donc lui permettre d'approcher le monde vivant sous des angles variés.

Le Master en Biologie des organismes et écologie forme les étudiant.e.s à la manipulation des différents outils expérimentaux d'analyse et d'observation: investigations morphologiques, physiologiques ou moléculaires, techniques analytiques, approche statistique, modélisation, gestion, élevage ou culture d'organismes, ... Il leur offre une vision globale des organismes vivants, depuis le niveau moléculaire jusqu'au niveau des communautés et des écosystèmes.

La plupart des enseignements combinent plusieurs approches, incluant des cours magistraux illustrés par des exercices ou des travaux pratiques. Des travaux personnels, généralement basés sur une recherche bibliographique, sont également demandés dans le cadre de certains enseignements.

Les membres du Département de Biologie des Organismes gèrent le Muséum de Zoologie et d'Anthropologie, le Jardin Botanique expérimental Jean Massart, ainsi que l'Herbarium et la Bibliothèque de Botanique africaine. Ces structures constituent des outils pédagogiques originaux, utilisés pour l'illustration de travaux pratiques et mis à disposition des étudiants pour la réalisation des travaux personnels.

Pour les finalités approfondies et didactique, des stages de terrain axés sur les points forts de la recherche du Département de Biologie des Organismes (biologie marine, écosystèmes terrestres et éco-éthologie) sont organisés, où une formation théorique est mise en pratique par la réalisation d'observations et d'expériences sur le terrain.

La Finalité TROPIMUNDO, et l’option « BEVT » de la Finalité approfondie mettent également l'accent sur des stages de terrain, dont l'organisation est assurée par nos partenaires tropicaux.

Pour toutes les finalités, le mémoire de fin d'études est une formation à la recherche scientifique. L'étudiant intègre l'un des laboratoires de recherche du Département de Biologie des Organismes ou de l'École Interfacultaire de Bioingénieurs où il s'initie aux méthodes et aux démarches de la recherche fondamentale.

Dans les finalités approfondies et didactique, les étudiants sont également formés à la mise sur pied et à la défense d'un projet de recherche, à savoir celui de leur propre mémoire. À l'issue de leur mémoire, les étudiants n'ayant pas suivi de formation didactique doivent également s'exercer à la rédaction et la présentation d'une communication scientifique.

La formation apportée par le Master est axée sur le développement des connaissances. Elle vise à former des chercheurs qui feront progresser la connaissance en biologie des organismes et en écologie par une approche scientifique; des experts qui répondront à des questions, poseront des diagnostics, proposeront des actions en matière de protection de l'environnement, de conservation de la nature, ou de développement durable; et des enseignants qui transmettront le savoir et les compétences.

Le Master favorise l'ouverture internationale des étudiants. Il propose des cours en anglais, organisés en partenariat avec la VUB. La mobilité des étudiants et leur participation à des programmes d'échange intra- ou extra-européens est vivement encouragée. En particulier, les finalités approfondies BEVT et TROPIMUNDO sont fortement orientées vers l'acquisition de savoirs et d'expérience en relation avec les pays tropicaux.

Les étudiants de l’option BEVT de la finalité approfondie effectuent leur 2ème quadrimestre du bloc 1 du MA au Cameroun, au Sénégal ou en Malaisie, où une large place est faite au travail de terrain.

Les étudiants de la finalité approfondie TROPIMUNDO effectuent leur 2ème quadrimestre du bloc 1 du MA dans une université du Sud (Pérou, Cameroun, Malaisie, Australie), et leur 1er quadrimestre de du bloc 2 du MA en mobilité dans une université du Nord, à Paris, à Cayenne ou à Florence.

Les étudiants de la finalité approfondie Biologie des Organismes et Ecologie sont encouragés à participer à des programmes d'échanges internationaux, en particulier en bloc 1 du MA.

Le mémoire peut également nécessiter un travail de terrain à l’étranger, notamment pour les étudiants s'orientant vers les milieux tropicaux, quelle que soit la Finalité.

Partenariat avec la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB): plusieurs cours, donnés en anglais par des professeurs de l'ULB, de la VUB ou en collaboration, sont offerts aux étudiants des deux universités.

La finalité approfondie (option BEVT) est proposée en partenariat avec l'Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) et le Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN) de Paris, l'Université Cheik Anta Diop de Dakar (Sénégal), l'Université de Dschang (Cameroun) et l’University Malaysia Terengganu (Malaisie)

La finalité spécialisée TROPIMUNDO est organisée en collaboration avec la Vrije Universiteit Brussel, l'Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC) et le Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN) de Paris, l'Université de Guyane française, l’Università degli Studi di Firenze (UNIFI), Italie, l'Universidad Científica del Perú (UCP) à Iquitos, Pérou, l'Université de Dschang (Cameroun), l’Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (Malaisie) et la University of Queensland (UQ) à Brisbane, Australie).

Des collaborations sont également entretenues avec des Établissements Scientifiques Fédéraux (Institut royal des Sciences Naturelles, Musée royal d'Afrique Centrale, Jardin Botanique de Meise), dont le personnel scientifique est impliqué dans les enseignements et l'encadrement de mémoires de fin d'études.

Conditions d’accès

Programme

Répartition des enseignements en nombres de crédits.

Finalité didactique

  • Biologie des organismes – cours généraux: 25

  • Statistiques – traitement de données: 5

  • Stages de terrain (en région tempérée): 15

  • Formation didactique: 30

  • Formation à la recherche (y compris le mémoire): 35

Finalité approfondie

  • Biologie des organismes – cours généraux: 35

  • Cours à option: 30

  • Statistiques – traitement de données: 5

  • Stages de terrain (en région tempérée (option générale) ou en région tropicale (option Biodiversité et Environnements végétaux tropicaux)): 15

  • Formation à la recherche (y compris le mémoire): 35

Finalité spécialisée Erasmus Mundus Masters Course in Tropical Biodiversity and Ecosystems (TROPIMUNDO)

  • Biologie des organismes – cours généraux: 18-21

  • Cours à option: 18-24

  • Cours à orientation tropicale: 24-33

  • Statistiques – traitement de données: 3-16

  • Stages de terrain (en région tropicale): 8-15

  • Formation à la recherche (y compris le mémoire): 30

Et après ?

Débouchés

  • Secteur industriel et consultance (pharmaceutique, biotechnologique, agro-alimentaire, technologies de l’environnement): recherche et développement en laboratoire; responsable de gestion, de communication et/ou d’édition en entreprise; conseiller scientifique pour la vente de produits de haute technologie ; chargé d’études d’impact ;

  • Secteur de la conservation de la nature et de l’environnement : métiers liés à la conservation, la gestion et la valorisation des écosystèmes et des ressources de la diversité biologique ;

  • Secteur de l’enseignement : enseignement aux niveaux moyen et supérieur non-universitaire ;

  • Secteur académique : enseignement et recherche dans les Universités, les Hautes Ecoles ;

  • Secteur public (communal, régional, fédéral, international) : métiers liés à l'environnement et au développement durable ; au contrôle de qualité ; à la biosécurité; à la police scientifique ; à la formation continue ; à la vulgarisation scientifique ; à la coopération au développement.

En tant que chercheur dans le secteur académique (universités, hautes écoles, centres de recherche, musées, jardins botaniques) et/ou le secteur privé (entreprises biotechnologiques, industrie agroalimentaire, pharmaceutique), le biologiste des organismes est l’acteur principal du développement des connaissances sur les systèmes vivants, leur fonctionnement et leur évolution.

Comme expert, dans le secteur public (administrations locales, fédérales, européennes ; institutions publiques de gestion de l'environnement et de conservation de la biodiversité), dans les organisations non gouvernementales (conservation de la nature, coopération au développement) ou dans des bureaux d’étude et de consultance, le biologiste participe à la réalisation d’études d’impact ainsi qu’à la conception , la mise en œuvre et le suivi de projets de conservation, gestion et valorisation des ressources de la diversité biologique.

Comme enseignant ou responsable de projets pédagogiques, dans des établissements d’enseignement, des musées ou des associations d’éducation à l’environnement, il participe à la diffusion des sciences dans la société, suscite l’intérêt pour les organismes vivants et démontre leur importance pour l’Homme.